Wizkid, Yemi Alade, Tekno win big at this year's edition as music lovers are entertained with great live performance.
Yemi Alade at MAMA 2016 Yemi Alade at MAMA 2016 The MTV Africa Music Awards (MAMA) 2016 rolls out the glamour with thrilling performances and awards presentation. South Africa rap talent Cassper Nyovest picks up award for Best Live Act at the show. He edges out Eddy Kenzo (Uganda), Flavour (Nigeria), Mafikizolo (South Africa) and Stonebwoy (Ghana). Sauti Sol wins Best Group beating Mi Casa (South Africa), Navy Kenzo (Tanzania), R2bees (Ghana) and Toofan (Togo). Yemi Alade wins Best Female edging out her Nigerian counterpart Tiwa Savage, Ghana's Mz Vee, Tanzania's Vanessa Mdee and Josey of Ivory Coast. This makes her the first artist to win the award for Best Female twice (2015 and 2016). Drake wins Best International Act beating Adele, BeyoncĂ©, Future and Rihanna to it. Tekno beats Falz, Simi, Nasty C others to Best Breakthrough Act award. Star Boy Wizkid wins Best Male, edging out AKA, Black Coffee, Diamond Platnumz and Patoranking. He also goes home with African Artist Of The Year beating Yemi Alade, Diamond Platnumz, Black Coffee and Sauti Sol. The Star singer made it a 'hat-trick' with his DJ Maphorisa 'Soweto baby' feature winning Best Collaboration. Hugh Masekela, a South African human rights activist, musician and composer wins the MTV Legend award at MAMA 2016. See full list of winners. Best Live Act Cassper Nyovest (South Africa) - Winner Eddy Kenzo (Uganda), Flavour (Nigeria), Mafikizolo (South Africa) Stonebwoy (Ghana). Best Group Sauti Sol (Kenya)- Winner Mi Casa (South Africa), Navy Kenzo (Tanzania), R2bees (Ghana) Toofan (Togo). Best Female Yemi Alade (Nigeria) - Winner Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) Josey (Ivory Coast) Mz Vee (Ghana) Tiwa Savage (Nigeria) Vanessa Mdee (Tanzania) Best Pop/Alternative Desmond & The Tutus (South Africa) LCNVL (South Africa) Shekinah (South Africa) / Kyle Deutsch (South Africa) - Winner Timo ODV (South Africa) Tresor (DRC) Best International Adele (UK) BeyoncĂ© (USA) Drake (Canada) - Winner Future (USA) Rihanna (Barbados) Best Lusophone Act C4 Pedro (Angola) - Winner NGA (Angola) Lizha James (Mozambique) Nelson Freitas (Netherlands/Cape Verde) Preto Show (Angola) Best Francophone Act Franko (Cameroon) J-Rio (Gabon) Magasco (Cameroon) Serge Beynaud (Ivory Coast) - Winner Toofan (Togo) Best Male AKA (South Africa) Black Coffee (South Africa) Diamond (Tanzania) Patoranking (Nigeria) Wizkid (Nigeria) - Winner Listener's Choice Adiouza (Senegal) Bebe Cool (Uganda) Burna Boy (Nigeria) Den G (Liberia) EL (Ghana) Jah Prayzah (Zimbabwe) - Winner Jay Rox (Zambia) Kansoul (Kenya) Kiss Daniel (Nigeria) Lij Michael (Ethiopia) LXG (Sierra Leone) Meddy (Rwanda) Messias Marioca (Mozambique) Prince Kaybee (South Africa) Reda Taliani (Algeria) Saad Lamjarred (Morocco) Sabri Mosbah (Tunisia) Sidiki Diabate (Mali) Tamer Hosny (Egypt) The Dogg (Namibia) Yamoto Band (Tanzania) Best Collaboration in partnership with Absolut AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana & Yanga – "Baddest" (South Africa/Nigeria) DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid & DJ Bucks - "Soweto Baby" ((South Africa/Nigeria) - Winner Nasty C feat. Davido, Cassper - "Juice Back Remix" (Nigeria/South Africa) Patoranking feat. Sarkodie – "No Kissing" (Nigeria/Ghana) Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba - "Unconditionally Bae" (Kenya/Tanzania) Video of the Year “Jump” - Anatii & Cassper feat. Nasty C (South Africa); Director: Kyle Lewis “Caviar Dreams” - AL Bairre & PhFAT (South Africa); Director: Daniel Levi “If I Start to Talk” - Tiwa Savage feat. Dr Sid (Nigeria); Director: Clarence Peters “Kisasi Kumi” - Sheeba (Uganda) - Director: Sasha Vybz “ Niquer Ma Vie“ - Youssoupha (Congo) - Director: Antony Abdelli & Jose Eon - Winner Personality of the Year in association with DStv Caster Semenya (South Africa) - Winner Linda Ikeji (Nigeria) Pearl Thusi (South Africa) Pierre Emerick Aubameyang (Gabon) Wizkid (Nigeria) Best Hip Hop in association with MTN Emtee (South Africa) - Winner Kiff No Beat (Ivory Coast) Olamide (Nigeria) Riky Rick (South Africa) Ycee (Nigeria) Best Breakthrough Babes Wodumo (South Africa) Emtee (South Africa) Falz (Nigeria) Franko (Cameroon) Nasty C (South Africa) Nathi (South Africa) Raymond (Tanzania) Simi (Nigeria) Tekno (Nigeria) - Winner Song of the year in partnership with Google “Shaktibobo” – Olamide (Nigeria) “Reggae Blues” - Harrysongz feat Olamide, Kcee & Iyanya, Orezi (Nigeria) “My Woman, My Everything” – Patoranking feat. Wande Coal (Nigeria) - Winner “Godwin” – Korede Bello (Nigeria) “Ngud” – Kwesta feat. Cassper (South Africa) “Roll Up Re-Up” – Emtee feat. Wizkid and AKA (South Africa/Nigeria) “Soweto Baby” – DJ Maphorisa feat. Wizkid (South Africa/Nigeria) “Baddest” – AKA feat. Burna Boy, Khuli Chana, Yanga (South Africa/Nigeria) “Wololo” - Babes Wodumo feat. Mampintsha (South Africa) “Coller la Petite“ – Franko (Cameroon) “Unconditionally bae” - Sauti Sol feat. Alikiba (Kenya/Tanzania) Artist of the Year Black Coffee (South Africa) Diamond (Tanzania) Sauti Sol (Kenya) Wizkid (Nigeria)- Winner Yemi Alade (Nigeria) MAMA 2016 MTV Legend award goes to South African musician and human rights activist Hugh Masekela.>